Love Is the Cornerstone

It is quite a tricky thing to find a balance in your beliefs. I want to be open-minded enough that I am receptive and submissive when God works in me to abolish beliefs that are not of him. But I also want to be firmly convicted about the beliefs that I trust in my gut are of God.

I think I’m learning, slowly, that the standard by which my beliefs ought to be measured is love. After all, 1 John 4:8 tells me that God is love. So if love is the essence of the Father, the quality that above all others that characterizes him, I think it is also the quality by which all my beliefs ought to be measured.

For example, one issue I am struggling to come to terms with right now is the role of women in institutionalized religion. I’m pretty sure that I have slowly but surely become an egalitarian, and I’m also pretty sure that this is because love says “There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is neither male nor female—for all of you are one in Christ Jesus” (Galatians 3:28). Love does not elevate one gender over another, members of one social class over another, members of one ethnicity over another. Love says we are all on level playing ground, and that our roles in our families, our churches, and our society should be based on the unique qualities God has gifted us with, and not our gender.

Given this idea of love as the cornerstone upon which we ought to build our doctrines, I find it fascinating that love is the one thing that I feel Christians can agree on. We all know what it looks like to treat another with selfless love, and we all know what it looks like when we’re just pointing fingers or lifting ourselves up at the expense of another. Love, I think, is the glue that unifies the Body of Christ.

And I find that to be just beautiful, because God is Love.

Posted on December 14, 2013, in Doctrine, Love, Womanhood. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

