Homosexuality: Is It Okay by God or Not?! I Want an Answer Already!

A word of warning: this post isn’t going to be pretty. And it’s going to be quite rambly and unfocused.

A while back I posted about fence-sitting, and how I sometimes feel wishy-washy because I haven’t taken a stand on a lot of big issues. In that post, I wrote that this place where I am is okay, and that I’m on a journey of discovery and that I need to be patient about seeking these answers.

But today I don’t feel that way. Today I’m so angry, and frustrated, and upset with myself. Frustrated with this sense of paralysis, this gut-wrenching fear in the face of taking a stand about my beliefs. See, I’m still participating in the comments section of this blog post. And the stuff I’m reading there, as well as the LGBT-affirming arguments I’ve read elsewhere, are pushing me closer and closer to breaking through that glass wall I talked about in my last post. The idea that God blesses same-sex marriage seems so easy, so clear, so right when I read those comments.

Then I called my mom. And I talked to her about all this, about my feelings and opinions and whatnot. And she stated to me with so much conviction, so much certainty, that homosexuality is wrong. I know she didn’t mean to – and she certainly didn’t imply anything of the sort – but talking with her made me feel like questioning her interpretation is the same as questioning my very Creator. And then I thought about all the other people in my life who I love deeply, people who I cherish and admire and respect so much.

And I think, what am I doing?! What am I doing, questioning these people’s ideas about homosexuality? They’re so much older than me, so much wiser and so much more knowledgeable than I am. I mean really, what do I know?

But here’s the thing…the thing I cannot lose sight of in all this…the thing that keeps me looking heavenward. My loved ones, my pastor, my church, and even my religious tradition don’t speak for God. All are flawed, all make mistakes, all have the capacity, just as I do, to treat the scriptures wrongly.

So where does that leave me? My mom might be wrong to say homosexuality is a sin. I might be wrong because the idea that God blesses same-sex relationships makes so much more sense to me than my mom’s ideas.  As I’ve so frustratingly discovered, there are a multitude of ways to interpret the biblical passages about homosexuality, and most are quite well thought out, and fit into some sort of larger biblical framework – and they all make arguments that are in direct opposition to each other! What the blazes am I supposed to believe?!

So that’s where my feelings are…today, at least. Maybe tomorrow will bring some new enlightenment that I hadn’t considered before.

Posted on August 16, 2013, in Bible, Homosexuality, Questions. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. You need to pray, go to the Scriptures yourself, and ask God to reveal the truth to you from His Word, and not the opinion of others. If you sincerely desire to know the truth God is well able by His Holy Spirit to make it clear to you. Look up all of the verses on homosexuality in the Scriptures, without the commentary of others, and seek to know the truth. A good place to start would be Romans Chapter 1. God bless you:)
    http://holdingforthhisword.wordpress.com/2013/08/16/if-the-foundations-are-destroyed-what-shall-the-righteous-do/

  2. Thanks for your comment, Eliza. Trust me when I say I have read, reread, cried and prayed over all those verses many times, and I have sought answers from God. But I think commentary from others is necessary, because the knowledge of others helps me understand the historical context of the verse, and that context is extremely important! Plus the ideas of others helps me see Scripture from angles other than my own, and that’s also important.

  3. Dear Tiffani,
    It is the comments of others that is distracting you from the clarity of God’s Word. What if we never had historical context, would the Word of God be sufficient to inform our faith and bring us to salvation? …and that from childhood you have known the Holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus. Do we really need the input of others, or the input of God’s Word by the Holy Spirit? The Word of God became very clear to me the day I determined to just read the Bible and leave off listening to others, mostly through books. Years ago, the Lord taught me and brought me to the point where I confessed that I would trust Him and His Word, the Bible, After that prayer, it seemed a veil was removed from my eyes when reading the Bible, not literally, but figuratively, and I had greater understanding,love and appreciation for the Word of God. God bless you.

  4. Dear Tiffani,

    Why does it matter to you?

    It matters a great deal if you are lesbian. Then, you need to know that God is fine with that. (Just to show my side of the argument: my sexuality and gender identity are a particular blessing for my society, which God intended, making everything Good.)

    Then it can matter to bring you closer to other people. Everyone feels more comfortable with people when they generally agree about stuff. The problem with this is that it can create boundaries against the Outsiders who Don’t Think Like We do, and that is not Godly.

    The Bible is contradictory. This is evident from its first two chapters: did God make trees on the third day, man and woman together on the sixth, or make Adam, then all the plants and trees, and then woman? There are far greater contradictions: Jonah, on bringing all people in to Faith, or Nehemiah, on concentrating on being Separate and Holy and Different; but they are visible as soon as you read it, and if you deny them you deny it.

    I have just done a post on those bible verses: https://clareflourish.wordpress.com/2013/08/12/those-bible-verses-in-full/ It is jocular in places, because I find the arguments against homosexuality ridiculous. The arguments against, command you to hate people for who we are. That is not Godly.

    • Thanks for your wisdom here! You’re right; I’m probably more concerned than I ought to be about figuring out this issue, probably because it is so controversial in society at large right now, so I feel more compelled to take a stand.

      However…I don’t at all think that the Bible commands you to hate people for being who they are. I know too many Christians in my life who love unconditionally (who love better than I do, really!), and yet believe homosexuality is sinful. It’s people’s actions and behaviors, not their beliefs, that hurt – at least where this topic is concerned.

      Thank you for the link, I will certainly read it!

  5. Too bad you only want to listen to those who denigrate the Word of God because it condemns their evil practices. The Bible clearly speaks out against the sin of homosexuality, just like it does for every other sin. As a matter of fact, homosexuality is a curse from God upon those who exchange the truth of God, the Bible, for the lie, man’s ungodly opinions. …who exchanged the truth of God for the lie, and worshiped and served the creature rather than the Creator, who is blessed forever. Amen. For this reason God gave them up to vile passions. For even their women exchanged the natural use for what is against nature. Likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust for one another, men with men committing what is shameful, and receiving in themselves the penalty of their error which was due. Romans 1:25-27 Embracing that sinful life will lead to untold sorrow and ultimately eternal destruction in hell. You should chose life through repentance and faith in Jesus Christ. God bless you.
    http://holdingforthhisword.wordpress.com/2013/08/17/standing-for-the-truth/

Leave a Reply

